The Association of Ontario Land Surveyors (AOLS) has several committees and task forces that help it meet its public protection mandate. There are six statutory committees that are put in place through the Surveyors Act and Ontario Regulation 1026:

  1. Executive Committee
  2. Academic and Experience Requirements Committee
  3. Registration Committee
  4. Complaints Committee
  5. Discipline Committee
  6. Fees Mediation Committee

There are also several non-statutory committees and task forces that are put in place to deal with specific challenges (e.g., Professional Standards Committee, charged with maintaining standards of practice).

Committees and task forces are organized under Commissions to ensure cross-committee communications and linkages with Council.

AOLS Commissions/Committees

AOLS has four commissions under which all the committees and task forces fall, as follows:

Governance Commission:

  1.  Constitutional Challenge Task Force (currently inactive)
  2.  Executive Committee (Statutory) 
  3.  Fees Mediation Committee (Statutory)
  4.  Government Relations Committee (ad hoc)
  5.  Legislation/Regulation Task Force
  6.  Nominating Committee (Statutory)
  7.  Registration Committee (Statutory)

Professional Standards and Practice Commission:

  1.  Fees for Field Notes Task Force
  2.  Complaints Committee (Statutory)
  3.  Discipline Committee (Statutory)
  4.  LRO Task Committee
  5.  Monument Protection Committee
  6.  Professional Standards Committee
  7.  Province-Wide SRI Committee
  8.  Survey Review Department (SRD) Committee
  9.  Underground Utilities Committee

Outreach and Professional Education Commission:

  1.  Academic and Experience Requirements Committee (AERC) (Statutory)
  2.  Continuing Education Committee (CEC)
  3.  CPD Audit Committee
  4.  Expanded Profession Task Force
  5.  Inclusivity and Diversity Committee
  6.  Marketing and Recruitment Committee (MRC)
  7.  Website Maintenance Committee
  8.  Municipal Surveyors Committee

Member Services Commission:

  1.  AGM Task Force
  2.  Archival & Historical Committee
  3.  Insurance Advisory Committee