Association of Ontario Land Surveyors

Governance Commission Report

Gavin Lawrence, Commission Chair

Annual General Meeting March 4, 2022

Executive Committee

Chair: Gavin Lawrence

Major Achievements for 2021

- Met in advance of every Council meeting to set agenda
- Addressed special communications required

Notes:

- The Constitutional Challenge Task Force did not meet since there was no action on this file. There was an unsuccessful attempt to have this withdrawn but the lawyer with carriage of the action did not respond.
- The Government Relations Committee was not active although three letters were sent to Ministers and the Executive Director met with government staff.

Fees Mediation Committee

Presiding Officer: Brent Larocque

Major Achievements for 2021

Completed a major update to the practice manual

Upcoming Challenges to be addressed

 Consider future legislative changes that could transfer functions to the Complaint Committee

Legislation and Regulation Taskforce

Chair: James Dorland

Major Achievements for 2021

- Considered a variety of items related to modernizing the Surveyors Act including:
 - Review and approval of a project plan to modernize the Surveyors Act
 - Issuance of an RFP for a regulatory review
 - Drafting changes to the exclusive area of practice
- Reviewed and prioritized the review of recommendations made in the Steinecke Review

Upcoming Challenges to be addressed

Updating/Modernizing the Acts

Nominating Committee

Chair: Al Jeraj

Major Achievements for 2021

 Put together a strong slate of candidates for Council in accordance with the Surveyors Act

Upcoming Challenges to be addressed

- Continuing to promote the benefits of participating in committees and Council
- Consider recommendations from the Steinecke Report

Registrations Committee

Chair: David Pesce

Major Achievements for 2021

- Addressed several Certificate of Authorization requests that were slightly out of the ordinary
- Started a Practice Manual

Upcoming Challenges to be addressed

- Deal with requests as they arise
- Consider recommendations from the Steinecke Report
- Complete the Practice Manual

Committee Members

Executive

Gavin Lawrence: Chair

Andy Shelp | Andrew Mantha | Dave Kovacs | Brian Maloney |

Fees Mediation

Brent Larocque: Presiding Officer

John Merrlles | Michelle Pearson | Harold Hyde | Murray

Purcell | Amar Loai | Martha George (LGA)

Legislation and Regulations Task Force

James Dorland: Chair

Andrea Tieman | Ophir Dzaldov | Chris Musclow | Ron Berg | Tim

Bunker | Wayne Tremblay | Russ Hogan | Brian Maloney

Committee Members

Nominating

Al Jeraj: Chair

Russ Hogan | Dan Dzaldov | Paul Miller | Ronald Querubin | Peter

Meerveld (LGA)

Registration

David Pesce: Chair

Spiro Sinnis | Dasha Page | Helmut Piller | Brian Webster | Trevor

McNeil | Simon Kasprzak | John General (LGA) | Andrew

Dowie(LGA)